CFP: ADAPT 2014 @ HiPEAC 2014



ADAPT: 4th International Workshop on Adaptive Self-tuning Computing Systems

January 22nd, 2014, Vienna, Austria (co-located with HiPEAC 2014)

formatting link

Special focus on experimental reproducibility!


Computing systems are rapidly evolving into heterogeneous machines featuring many processor cores. This leads to a tremendous complexity with an unprecedented number of available design and optimisation choices for architectures, applications, compilers and run-time systems. Using outdated, non-adaptive technology results in an enormous waste of expensive computing resources and energy, while slowing down time to market.

Ideally, such systems should be able to automatically adjust their behaviour to multi-objective usage scenarios at all levels (hardware and software) based on empirical, dynamic, iterative, statistical, collective, bio-inspired, model-driven, agent-based, machine learning and alternative techniques while fully utilising available resources.

The 4th International Workshop on Adaptive Self-tuning Computing Systems is an interdisciplinary forum for researchers, practitioners, developers and application writers to discuss ideas, experience, methodology, applications, practical techniques and tools to improve or change current and future computing systems using self-tuning technology.

All submissions will be peer-reviewed. Topics of interests include techniques to simplify, automate and standardise the design, programming, optimisation and adaptation of large-scale computing systems for improving multiple objectives such as performance, power consumption, utilisation, reliability and scalability.

==== Important Dates ====

  • Abstract deadline: October 11, 2013
  • Paper submission deadline: October 18, 2013
  • Author notification: November 18, 2013
  • Final paper version: December 9, 2013

==== Program Chairs/organisers: ====

  • Christophe Dubach (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Grigori Fursin (INRIA Saclay, France)

==== Program Committee: ====

  • Erik Altman (IBM TJ Watson, USA)
  • Bruce Childers (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Koen De Bosschere (Ghent University, Belgium)
  • Marisa Gil (UPC, Spain)
  • Mary Hall (University of Utah, USA)
  • Timothy Jones (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Anton Lokmotov (ARM, UK)
  • Chi-Keung Luk (Intel, USA)
  • Tipp Moseley (Google, USA)
  • Toshio Nakatani (IBM, Japan)
  • Lasse Natvig (NTNU, Norway)
  • David Padua (UIUC, USA)
  • Aaron Smith (Microsoft Research, USA)
  • Juergen Teich (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany)
  • Vittorio Zaccaria (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)

==== Paper Submission Guidelines ==== We invite papers in three categories:

  • Full papers presenting novel ideas with mature content (6 pages).

  • Extended abstract presenting novel ideas with preliminary results and exploratory work including wild & crazy ideas (2 pages).

  • Extended abstract of already published work (must be your own) presenting ideas relevant to the ADAPT workshop. There will be no proceedings for this type of submissions.

We particularly welcome papers where experimental results can be validated by the community. If accepted, the final papers should include Appendix with detailed research methodology and references to all used data and tools (should be publicly available by the time of the workshop). Such submissions should include (reproducible) in the title.

More details for paper submission here:

formatting link

==== Past ADAPT workshops ====

  • 3rd ADAPT 2013 at HiPEAC 2013, Berlin, Germany
    formatting link

  • 2nd EXADAPT 2012 at ASPLOS 2012, London, UK
    formatting link

  • 1st ACM SIGPLAN EXADAPT 2011 at PLDI 2011/FCRC 2011, San Jose, CA, USA
    formatting link

----------------------------------------- Grigori Fursin, PhD Tenured Research Scientist, INRIA, France cTuning/Collective Mind Founder

formatting link

Reply to
Loading thread data ...

ElectronDepot website is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.